Aren’t You Just Making Money From Something That Should Be Treated?

Maybe she’s born with it. Maybe it’s ADHD.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
9 min readApr 29, 2024
Photo by Hiki App on Unsplash

Sometimes I wonder if I’m an artist, or if there’s just something wrong with me. But it’s something I may not ever desire to fix.

Listening to comedian Conan O’Brien’s podcast the other day, I realized I’m not the only one.

I watched O’Brien’s show religiously as a teenager, and he’s one of my all-time favorite funny people. I love how his silly on-screen personality seems so much a part of who he is. It’s not an act.

He’s just on all the time, always doing a bit. Whenever someone says something funny, O’Brien is game. He commits to a joke and takes it further and further, to an absolutely ridiculous place.

At one point in a recent episode (with Jimmy Carr if you want to look for it), O’Brien talks about an interaction with his father that was revealing of the differences between some artists’ brains and those who are not creatively inclined.

His father is an epidemiologist and professor of medicine at the Harvard Medical School. And as the comedian told on his podcast, his very accomplished scientist father had once looked at his son while he was goofing around and said, in all seriousness: “Oh, I understand. You’re making your…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.