Did a Sexologist Try to Scam Me?

Into what, I’m still not sure.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
8 min readApr 17, 2024
torso of long-haired woman in white t-shirt and beige cardigan sitting on couch with an open book
Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

I have a tendency to overshare. (I had to warn you in case you’re new here.)

I talk way too much, including about things that are generally considered taboo, like sex or bodily functions.

Being a comic, sharing things about my life with people I don’t know feels natural. Even if it’s the kinds of things other people wish to keep between them and their romantic partners.

That’s why my guard was way down when a woman presenting as a sexologist wanted to ask me some questions. For the purpose of a study, of course.

I’m just trying to be nice here

She had slid into my DMs a few months before, only to tell me she had stumbled onto my profile by accident but liked something about my content. It was, now that I think of it, a very impersonal kind of message, something you’d send off in bulk to fifty people at once.

I said thanks and moved on. I used to immediately delete these kinds of unsolicited messages, but these days I’m fairly open to them.

I’m slowly trying to build myself an online presence for comedy reasons (okay, veeery slowly, but content creation is on my to-do list for the next few months). The truth is, I detest social media and…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.