Has Medium Gotten Nicer?

This is not the Medium I remember, but I’m on board.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
3 min readMar 1, 2024
Wishing all trolls a happy life far from Medium. Photo by Jirka Konietzny on Unsplash

I dread the comment section.

I’ve been on the internet long enough to know some people will always start a comment with a “well, actually” and either correct you according to their views or simply start insulting you.

There’s no way to please everyone, and it’s too easy to type some negativity or snark and press enter. If you don’t believe me, just check the comments on any viral TikTok. People can be awful.

That’s why I’ve always avoided checking my comments and why I’ve had to block some people here whose life goal seemed to be to make other people as unhappy as they were.

A couple of days ago, one of my stories was Boosted. It was personal and on a topic I had been thinking about for a while, but I don’t think it was my best work ever.

It wasn’t even my favorite or most important story since I came back to this platform last week after a year-long hiatus. This one is, in case you’re interested.

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.