Men Don’t Believe Us

That’s why they want to help us understand things!

Taru Anniina Liikanen
5 min readDec 3, 2021
Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

To make my point, let’s start with a little story from my morning commute.

My workplace is in the city, but in such a hard-to-reach spot that we’re provided transport to the office from the city center. Since there’s no bus or train to make it there, everyone who works in the building either gets there in their own car or by minibus from the city center.

The other day, I was waiting for the minibus in the small terminal building where they pick us up. There had just been a COVID case in one of the buses, so for a few days they had been replaced with cars, while the buses were being completely disinfected and the people exposed to the virus quarantined.

One guy arrived. “Are the buses back?” he asked me. I nodded in response. But instead of believing my word, he left and went to ask an employee of the terminal.

Guy number two arrived, asking the same question, but directing it at guy number one instead of me. Guy number one shrugged.

“One of the people on my team just confirmed the buses are back,” I told guy number two. But instead of believing me, he needed to ask someone else.

“What is it with men not believing women? It’s like I don’t exist,” I said to the first one as…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.