My Vagina is Super Smart

She really knows better than I do.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
3 min readDec 7, 2021
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

A couple of days ago, I read a great story about how women should use our periods as a superpower. Our menstrual health says so much about our general health, so being in tune with the changes in our periods can help us detect any underlying problems.

I loved it, because I’ve always felt this on some level, as I’m sure many of us have. My body is really smart, and I know when it’s trying to tell me something. An ex-boyfriend of mine always laughed at this, at how I claimed I was in tune with my body, but it’s true. Periods are an incredibly important indicator of overall health.

Surprisingly, though, it’s not just about periods.

It’s my vagina, whom I call Viviana. (There’s a story behind this name, but it’s only funny if you live in Argentina.)

When I’m with the wrong man, Viviana can tell. She’s a really good friend, so she doesn’t tell me the guy is wrong immediately. She lets me have my fun first.

But she will get irritated afterwards, showing her displeasure. There’s a change in colors, smells, everything. And I use condoms, but the wrong man will still come in and destroy the bacterial balance there.

A new guy from Tinder I’m not really sure about? Itching for three days. No need to…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.