On My Favorite People

A newsletter on the women I love in art and life.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
4 min readMar 8, 2024
Like It? I made it myself, on Canva.

I love being back on Medium. I really do. This platform was the first place ever where I published my words, and where I started to overcome my fear of putting myself out there.

(I still suck at self-promotion, though, so believe me when I say this story is hard to write.)

But what I’ve learned in the past couple of years is that I don’t want to work hard and have the rug pulled out from under me again, which is what happened here around September 23rd, 2022 when the algorithm changed suddenly and my views and earnings took a nosedive.

Seriously, it was bad enough that I still remember the exact date.

While some of the changes since then have been positive, I know I need to diversify and think a little more strategically if I want to dedicate myself fully to writing one day. I know I need more control.

It takes a long time to build an audience on any platform, but when you rely solely on the whims of an algorithm or a human editor you don’t know (hello Vocal), you might lose everything in a second.

So, following the example of many Medium writers, I’m going to begin pivoting to a newsletter format. This way, readers aren’t going to casually end up reading one story and…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.