To the Men Giving Me Fitness and Health Advice

Thanks for all your concerns, I’m doing fine.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
4 min readOct 8, 2021
Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

First, let me just start by saying thank you to all the men who give me unsolicited help on health and fitness.

You know who you are. You’re always present, at every gym. Sometimes, at workplaces. You may be a personal trainer, or a random gym goer.

You seem to give your advice for free for anybody who listens, but you seem to have a knack for spotting the young women like me who simply couldn’t live without your valuable insights.

This is my letter to you.

On Cardio

Thank you for your interest in my cardio workout, but I’m very good at taking care of it myself.

This might come as a surprise, but your opinion on the best form of cardio is of very little relevance to me. I don’t care about what speed or heart rate will help me burn more fat, it’s not my main goal.

I don’t need your advice on how long my intervals or rest periods should be, because I don’t calculate them by time. I pick out the form of cardio according to what I feel like that day. I run to the rhythm of the music because I want to have fun when I work out.

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.